The railroad came to Orange in 1871...
... and track laid by the New Haven & Derby RR stayed in place until 1941. TylerCityStation [click here] is an acclaimed source of information on the historic NH&D, now mostly abandoned but definitely not forgotten. The road is meticulously documented and frequently updated with new research on Tracks 1-5 at TCS. Additional coverage of state railroad history, with a Google Earth map of rail and trolley lines and points of interest, is located on Track 11 and a complete listing of Connecticut passenger stations, with photos, maps, and histories, can be found on Track 12.
Railroad collection at The Academy
The Academy museum has a rich collection of railroad materials, including primary source documents, maps, photographs, research projects, and artifacts donated by residents who live along the abandoned right of way. Many of the items are showcased in this display on the first floor. Archival materials are upstairs in the Mary Rebecca Woodruff Research Center.
The New Haven & Derby Model Railroad Club
Founded in March 1986, the New Haven & Derby Railroad Club [click here] operates under the aegis of the Orange Historical Society. Its HO-gauge layout is located in the basement of The Academy. It depicts areas such as Long Wharf in New Haven, the railroad station in Orange Center and other scenes related to the original NH&D line and successor railroad companies.